top of page


Updated June 29, 2016

Six Decades in Amateur Radio

12 May 2016

At the May meeting, Bob Linker, W5SQA, shared his vast experience in amateur radio. Licensed since 1954, Bob is one of the founders of the Metrocrest Amateur Radio Society and is a Lifetime Member.


He explained how MARS started in 1979 as the Carrollton Amateur Radio Club with just a handful of hams. Bob says a significant accomplishment is his getting the call sign KB5A reassigned to the club from a member who became a silent key.

The highlight of his presentation was his massive QSL card collection, evidence of more than 60 years in ham radio. His DXCC Award certifies over 250 QSLs—virtually all are CW—with 100 watts and a dipole. Bob noted that he doesn’t use a computer with his rig and relies on paper logs for his contacts.


After his talk, we enjoyed browsing the hundreds of cards on display. Many thanks go to Bob for bringing his recollections to the membership.

Bob’s QSOs cover the globe.

Bob with John Hardin, KE5WQD and his wife.

Cards and more cards.

QSL from Senator and Presidential candidate Barry Goldwater, K7UGA (SK).

David Lewis, AC5DL and Deborah Lewis, W5DAL, talk with Bob about DX.

It’s Fast & Simple

14 April 2016

At the April meeting, Paul Newman, KA5TYW, explained FSQ—Fast Simple QSO. The mode uses multiple frequency shift keying (MFSK) to send and receive a very efficient varicode alphabet. FSQ is a fast, very slick, easy-to-use text messaging system. Just type a “sentence,” press ENTER and off it goes! It’s very much like a cell-phone chat.

Paul showed how the mode is fully integrated with the latest version of FLDIGI, and there is dedicated software, FSQCall, available. As always, more information is available on the web. Please visit the links below to find out more and download software.





It features an automatic call sign preamble so every transmission is identified. You can even send high-resolution images.

New Officers

9 June 2016

The membership confirmed by acclamation the club officers for 2016-17 at the June meeting. They are:

President: David Gilpin, K5GIL

Vice-president: Jim Colwell, KG5GIF

Secretary: Liz Brown, K5EMB

Treasurer: Tom Yenny, K5LOL

Director: Darrell Crimmins, KG5E

Congratulations to the new and returning officers. More information is on the OFFICERS page.

bottom of page